VGMA22: Kofi Kinaata wins 4th songwriter award

Kofi Kinaata

Day one of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) Weekend came off at the Grand Arena of the Accra International Conference Centre on Friday, June 25, with Highlife artiste Kofi Kinaata making history with his fourth Songwriter of the Year award.

He won with his song Behind The Scenes, beating strong competition from Adina, Abiana, Diana Hamilton, Joe Mettle and Epixode.

By this feat, Kofi Kinaata has become the first artiste to win the Songwriter of the Year award four times at the VGMA. He first won the award in 2016 for his song Susuka, then won it again in 2017 for Confession and then last year he picked up the award again with the chart topper Things Fall Apart.

The Adam and Eve singer's songwriting abilities have endeared him to both young and old and is also earning his endorsement deals.

In a post celebrating his win, Kofi Kinaata acknowledged his historic feat. "Another One! I set a record last year.. and I’ve broken my own record this year! The only Ghanaian Flag of Ghana artiste to win the VGMA SongWriter Award for the FOURTH time! Glowing starGlowing starGlowing starGlowing star #VGMA22 #TeamMooove," he wrote.

Another One! I set a record last year.. and I’ve broken my own record this year! The only Ghanaian 🇬🇭 artiste to win the VGMA SongWriter Award for the FOURTH time! 🌟🌟🌟🌟 #VGMA22 #TeamMooove

— Kofi Kinaata (@KinaataGh) June 26, 2021

Apart from Kofi Kinaata, 12 other awards were given out on the night; there were wins for Keche for Best Group, Gospel artiste MOG Music who won Male Vocalist of the Year for the second consecutive time and Abiana who surprisingly won Female Vocalist of the Year.

Here are the list of winners from the event:
Record of the Year
Be Your Own Beautiful – Adomaa
Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina (Winner)
Fancy – Amaarae
Die 4 U – Cina Soul
Too Much – Epixode
Diplomatic Teef – Trigmatic
Comot – Worlasi
Mmusuo – YaaYaa

Sound Engineer of the Year
Richie Mensah - Winner

Instrumentalist of the Year
Joshua Moszi
Nana Yaw Sarfo (Winner)
Prince Sennah
Emmanuel Bludo
Enoch Owuraku Kissi

Traditional Artiste of the Year

Manhyia Tete Nwomkro - Winner

Songwriter of the Year
Diana Hamilton – Adom
Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes (Winner)
Adina – Hyedin
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Abiana – Adun Lei
Epixode – Too Much

Music for Good

Yaayaa - Winner

Male Vocalist of the Year
KiDi – One Man
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Akwaboah – Posti Me
MOG Music – Oguamma (Winner)
Kyei Mensah – Take It All
Kingsley Amporful – God

Female Vocalist of the Year

Abiana – Adun Lei (Winner)
Adina – Hear Me
Cina Soul – Die 4 U
YaaYaa – Mmusuo
Efe Grace – Lord Have Your Way
Enuonyam – Fill Me

Best Group of the Year
Bethel Revival Choir
Dead Peepol
Keche - Winner

Producer of the Year

Chris Rich Beats
Yung Demz
Street Beatz
Richie Mensah - Winner
MOG Beatz
Willis Beatz

Best African Artiste
Burna Boy
Master KG - Winner
Fireboy DML
Omah Lay

Best Video of the Year

Why – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Cold – Joey B
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
On the Street – Kweku Smoke
Let Me Know – Mr Drew
Baddest Boss – MzVee (Winner)
Kpa – Okyeame Kwame
Thomas Pompoyeyaw Rmx – Pappy Kojo

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bob Pinodo

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

buttons=(Accept !) days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !